top of page
Search
  • smcconnell224

Vex Creed Character Sculpt DEVLOG 8 (Feb 12 - Feb 25)

Updated: Mar 11

Workflow Results

In my last devlog, I detailed how I would try posting every two weeks and see if that helped with my productivity. The past two weeks have not been the best to test that, but I think implementing something more standard will help. I think what I'll do within those two weeks is to work on this sculpt 8 out of the 14 days. Putting something more tangible to it rather than saying I'll work on it more one week and less another I realize isn't helpful, so I'll try that and see how it goes.


Horns


I decided to start the horns with cylinders rather than cones because I didn't want them to come to a perfect point. The horns in the design are also consistent in thickness up and down and don't converge into a point until the top third. I probably spent to much time working on the horns before remeshing them because after deforming them the wireframe got all weird, but it at least gave me a good idea for how to do them once I did remesh them.



They were much easier to sculpt once they were remeshed, and it did help the point at the top because the wireframe was not great in that area.


I didn't like the way that the grooves in the horns looked. I thought it looked too much like what I imagined a unicorn horn would look like. That doesn't fit the more draconic features Vex has. I masked out the sections and pulled the other sections up, and I really liked how that looked.



I really like the way the horns in Baldur's Gate 3 look, especially around where they connect to the forehead. I like the little bits of extra spikes that blend them in, so I decided to do that on this sculpt.



I decided I was happy with how the horns looked at this point. When I start breaking symmetry I'll probably add some scratches to them.


Tail Frill


I started the frill by flattening a sphere. I did this instead of a plane because the frill has more dimension to it.



Working on this wasn't too complex, just going back and forth with clay build up, damStandard, and move.


Hair Blockout

I used spheres to block out the hair to get an idea of how to make it. I only have a picture of it because I of course forgot to save, but at least making it the second time around should be easier.


Next Steps

Work on this sculpt has been slowgoing because a lot of things have been in flux. My schedule is finally becoming regular and I think that will help make work on this project more consistent.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Vex Creed Character Sculpt DEVLOG 14 (May 6 - May 19)

Setbacks Once again, I'm afraid I have no progress to show. This is just a part of the process and I have good reason. I'm moving soon, so I've been busy packing and worrying about logistics. It might

Vex Creed Character Sculpt DEVLOG 12 (Apr 8 - Apr 21)

Setbacks I do not have any progress on the sculpt to show this devlog. This is due to and not limited to an inconsistent, packed schedule and a lot of things happening. I've been juggling two jobs and

Post: Blog2_Post
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

©2022 by Shannon McConnell. All images by Shannon McConnell

bottom of page