top of page
Search
  • smcconnell224

Vex Creed Character Sculpt DEVLOG 4 (Dec 11 - Dec 31)

Why I've been gone

Happy New Year! This devlog has been a long time coming, as I couldn't consistently work on this project over the past few weeks. I had a lot going on with the holidays, starting new jobs, and figuring out how to make all of those work together. With all that being said, I don't have a whole lot of progress to show. I'll also be having surgery next week, so the next devlog will likely also be late and be light on content. Besides that, this is what I have for now.


Teeth


One thing I almost forgot about was that Vex would need a unique set of teeth. She has sharp incisors, canines, and molars. I would have to make a new set of teeth to put in her mouth cavity, which is fine because I've been meaning to redo the set of teeth I've made previously and use. It has a major problem where it is not centered properly so the geometry on the tongue is weird. I'm still not sure if I'll be posing her with her mouth open or not, but I wanna go ahead and give her the mouth cavity and teeth just in case. Even if I don't use them it'll be good practice.


Sculpting


I started sculpting! I started out making the head, and it didn't look like much at first because this stage is more about proportions than it is about detail. Even so, I probably went too detailed on this stage because in later stages all this work gets obliterated from zremeshing. Something I need to work on admittedly is not getting too detailed too early because it ends up wasting time.



I fixed the head more and added ears and a neck. I felt pretty proud of myself when I got the pointy ears on, it feels good to get back into the flow of things and have things like how to use the deform tool just come back naturally. I got a mouth cavity going and naturally, like I said earlier after all that dynameshing and zremeshing all the detail was destroyed, but that's fine because the details I did earlier were bad anyway.

I also started making the body! My main concern was getting the legs to look nice and come across well, which is why they have the most work on them. I need to remember to keep details light though and just get the primary forms down until every part of the body is attached. I'll still have to make the toes and the hands and dynamesh them on. Because of the tail there's some weirdness going on with the polygons there and I wanna try to iron that out. I'm not too concerned because that's an area that will always be covered by clothes later but it would be better for my soul if I didn't have to deal with temperamental geometry.


Next Steps

I gotta get the proportions of the body right, make hands and toes to attach, and then the primary forms should be done. From there, all I'll have to do is up the subdivisions and start adding more detail to the body. Once I get things looking good in secondary detail I'll start adding more to it. I probably won't get to that point this week though, most I'll be able to do is develop the body further.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Vex Creed Character Sculpt DEVLOG 14 (May 6 - May 19)

Setbacks Once again, I'm afraid I have no progress to show. This is just a part of the process and I have good reason. I'm moving soon, so I've been busy packing and worrying about logistics. It might

Vex Creed Character Sculpt DEVLOG 12 (Apr 8 - Apr 21)

Setbacks I do not have any progress on the sculpt to show this devlog. This is due to and not limited to an inconsistent, packed schedule and a lot of things happening. I've been juggling two jobs and

Post: Blog2_Post
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

©2022 by Shannon McConnell. All images by Shannon McConnell

bottom of page