top of page
Search
  • smcconnell224

Vex Creed Character Sculpt DEVLOG 2 (Nov 27 - Dec 3)

Further Progress


I was trying to nail down what the profile of the face will look like. Most of my characters have bumps in their nose, it's something I'm particular about. I started with a more straight bridged nose with a high nose bump. I thought it looked nice, but I wasn't so sure it fit Vex. I decided to make another version and get second opinions on which was better. For the other nose, I based it off of my nose profile which has a low bump and a bulbous tip. My friends had the consensus that they liked the look of the first nose but they felt that the second one looked better for the character. I got suggestions to make the bump of the second one more pronounced, and when I did that I found that I liked the look.


I kept adding more features. The hair was tricky because I didn't think it looked poofy enough at the top at first, but I kept reworking it until I was happy with it. Another tricky aspect was the angle of the horns. Vex's horns for the most part should stick straight up, but having them go like that on the profile view made them appear to point back. I decided to angle them slightly forward, and that fixed the issue. I think the corset will have to be split in the back to accommodate her tail.

While working on the side view, I realized that the 3/4s views are actually a bit redundant. I know that in my past devlog I wanted them to have extra detail, but I was already on the fence about them when I made them. I think a 3-point model sheet will be more than enough information to sculpt off of, and it will mean I can get to sculpting quicker. So I got rid of them.


New Tail


I wanted to change up Vex's tail. In her previous iterations, her tail looked like a lot of layered plates. I wanted to change it because I thought it made her tail look too solid. I still wanted the look of spikes on it. I looked at some real-life examples of lizard tails, and I liked the green basilisk lizard's tail. Half of it is frilled, and the other half is smooth with a striped pattern on it. This is giving me ideas to possibly add patterning onto Vex's skin when I color her in. I'm not super sure about it because her skin is already pretty busy with her being heavily scarred but it would not hurt to try. But more importantly, half of her tail being un-spiked made my brain chemicals dance because Vex would absolutely wear accessories on her tail if she could. So I added some necklaces.



Now that I've gotten rid of the 3/4 views, all I need to do is the back view. It should be quicker to do because I can just copy and paste the front view and edit it to fit a back view. But this is the progress for now.



Setbacks

I fully expected to finish the model sheet this week, but a few things have gotten in the way. I have to start splitting my time between this project and another project I'm working on for a friend. The positive side of that is that the project is having me work in zBrush, so I'm refamiliarizing myself with it before I get into sculpting Vex. I'm admittedly out of practice. I also did get sick this week and that took the wind out of my sails for a bit. I'm just now getting back to it, and I think this week I can get the model sheet done this week.


Next Steps

Once the back view is finished, I can color things in. I'm debating if I will render one view or just rely on callouts, but I imagine that will be a bridge I'll have to cross when I get to it. Now that I have the idea of doing a pattern on her skin in my head, the more excited I get. I really hope I can find a way to make that work because I think it would be such a fun detail. I'm pretty determined to make it so that by the next devlog I'll have a finished model sheet and be ready to sculpt.



14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Vex Creed Character Sculpt DEVLOG 14 (May 6 - May 19)

Setbacks Once again, I'm afraid I have no progress to show. This is just a part of the process and I have good reason. I'm moving soon, so I've been busy packing and worrying about logistics. It might

Vex Creed Character Sculpt DEVLOG 12 (Apr 8 - Apr 21)

Setbacks I do not have any progress on the sculpt to show this devlog. This is due to and not limited to an inconsistent, packed schedule and a lot of things happening. I've been juggling two jobs and

Post: Blog2_Post
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

©2022 by Shannon McConnell. All images by Shannon McConnell

bottom of page