top of page
Search
  • smcconnell224

Sura Character Sculpt DEVLOG 4

Prop and Model Stand


The first thing I did this week was sculpt more on the model stand and finish the prop. On the model stand, I started to use the hPolish brush. I really liked the result of that, and it really helped the sculpt look more rock-like. I had fun with it, and I made the stand look more stylized. I was thinking about eventually doing cel-shading when I eventually render this piece.

I also worked more on the cell phone. It was an interesting process to do the buttons, and I'm happy with how they turned out. I think I'll use height maps in the texture for smaller details, like the numbers or speaker.


Topology

This is my second time doing topology on a humanoid. I got a better hang of it this time around. I did go over that, but I think this topology was good practice. This sculpt is meant to be more concept sculpt than game ready, that was more of a stretch goal. I'm still working on the topology, and I'm starting to think I might not have enough time to pose this character.


Next Steps

It's very important for me to get the topology done quickly so that I can move on to UVs and texturing. I would like the pose this character, but if I don't get it done in time, that may have to be pushed back into something I only do after this quarter.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Vex Creed Character Sculpt DEVLOG 14 (May 6 - May 19)

Setbacks Once again, I'm afraid I have no progress to show. This is just a part of the process and I have good reason. I'm moving soon, so I've been busy packing and worrying about logistics. It might

Vex Creed Character Sculpt DEVLOG 12 (Apr 8 - Apr 21)

Setbacks I do not have any progress on the sculpt to show this devlog. This is due to and not limited to an inconsistent, packed schedule and a lot of things happening. I've been juggling two jobs and

Post: Blog2_Post
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

©2022 by Shannon McConnell. All images by Shannon McConnell

bottom of page